American speak

This country speaks many tongues, the primary one being American English, though I would argue that Americans are also particularly well-versed in the language of hyperbole. Take, for example, Steve Schwarzman comparing taxing carried interest to “Hitler invading Poland in 1939”; or Lloyd Blankfein’s assertion that he was doing “God’s work”; or John Taft, US CEO of RBC Wealth Management, likening “his fear for the country to ‘hiding under my desk during air-raid drills because of the Cuban missile crisis’, when ‘literally the future of humanity hung in the balance’“. “If I were God,” he continued.

I once declared "I am God" in the middle of a deposition.

I once declared “I am God” in the middle of a deposition.

via the Baseline Scenario

Leave a Reply

